Facilities: Naval reactors


Six nations are currently operating nuclear-powered ships. Most of these are nuclear-powered submarines. The United States, Russia, and France also operate nuclear-powered aircraft carriers. Russia is the only country that operates nuclear-powered civilian ships, all but one of them icebreakers. Brasil has a nuclear submarine program, but it has not produced an operational submarine yet.

Most countries use HEU in the naval reactor fuel. The only known exceptions are France and China that operate LEU reactors.

The table lists the number of nuclear powered ships, military and civilian that were operational as of the end of 2015. One of the submarines that are operated by India has been leased from Russia. Most ships are powered by a single reactor, but some (mostly Russian submarines) have two. The number of reactors is given in parenthesis.