Progress in the US-Russian reactor conversion program

In a joint statement issued by Russia and the United States, the two countries agreed to begin conversion of the Argus research reactor in 2014. The statement also noted that Rosatom and DoE completed conversion feasibility studies for all six reactors previously identified in the 2010 agreement - Argus, OR, and I-8 at the Kurchatov Institute, IRT-MEPhI (Moscow Institute of Physics and Engineering), IRT-T (Tomsk Technical University), and MIR.M1 (NIIAR, Dimitrovgrad). Rosatom and DoE agreed to focus on development of high density fuel for the two IRT reactors and to continue their work on conversion of research facilities. They will consider "expanding their cooperation beyond the six reactors that have been considered so far."